رسالة المدير

دكتور سانشيز

يسعدني أن أرحب بكم في مركز UNM الشامل للسرطان ، وهو مركز السرطان الوحيد في نيو مكسيكو المعين من قبل المعهد الوطني للسرطان. نحن فخورون بتقديم علاجات السرطان الأكثر تقدمًا ، استنادًا إلى أحدث العلوم ، لجميع المكسيكيين الجدد هنا في ولايتنا الأصلية.

- يولاندا سانشيز ، دكتوراه ، مدير ومدير تنفيذي

المدير والمدير التنفيذي
مركز السرطان الشامل بجامعة نيو مكسيكو

كرسي موريس ومارجريت ليبرمان المتميز في أبحاث السرطان
أستاذ بقسم الطب الباطني ، قسم الطب الجزيئي ،
كلية الطب بجامعة نيو مكسيكو

سابقا:
أستاذ علم الأحياء الجزيئية والنظم
مدير مشارك للعلوم الأساسية ، مركز دارتموث للسرطان

نفذت يولاندا (يولي) سانشيز عملها في التخرج في مركز إم دي أندرسون للسرطان في هيوستن. بصفتها زميلة ما بعد الدكتوراه في مختبر الدكتور ستيفن إليدج ، استخدمت الخميرة وخلايا الثدييات لتشريح مسارات الإشارات التي تنظم المرحلة S والانقسام الخيطي بعد تلف الحمض النووي حيث قامت باستنساخ جينات كيناز 1 للثدييات والخميرة. يتم استكشاف كيناز Chk1 البشري ومسار Chk1 / Atr كأهداف للأورام في التجارب السريرية. كان أول تعيين للدكتورة سانشيز في هيئة التدريس في كلية الطب بجامعة سينسيناتي ، حيث تم منحها منصبًا في عام 2004 قبل أن يتم تعيينها في عام 2006 في كلية الطب في دارتموث ، والمعروفة الآن باسم كلية جيزل للطب في دارتموث. تم تسمية الدكتورة سانشيز باحثة في PEW في عام 2001. يواصل مختبرها دراسة مسارات الاستجابة لتلف الحمض النووي. في الآونة الأخيرة ، ركز مختبرها على استهداف كعب أخيل من السرطانات الناتجة عن إشارات Ras غير المنظمة باستخدام شاشات كيميائية مميتة اصطناعية.

يتمتع الدكتور سانشيز أيضًا بعدة سنوات من الخبرة القيادية في مركز دارتموث للسرطان (DCC ، المعروف سابقًا باسم مركز نوريس لسرطان القطن) و SYNERGY (Dartmouth's CTSA). الدكتور سانشيز هو المدير المساعد للعلوم الأساسية في DCC ويعمل في اللجنة التوجيهية لمجموعة علاج الأورام السريرية التجريبية المبكرة (EPTCOG) ، والتي تضمن استكشاف فرص البحث المترجم ودعمها من خلال التمويل التجريبي والتعاون السريري الفعال من أجل تمت رعاية البحوث المترجمة. تشمل أدوار الدكتورة سانشيز تعزيز الترجمة ثنائية الاتجاه ، وفي عام 2015 قادت برنامج التمويل الأولي لدعم البرامج متعددة التخصصات متعددة المحققين. هذه المبادرة ، التي تتضمن مراجعة الأقران لتطبيق مكتوب بالإضافة إلى عروض فريق أسلوب زيارة الموقع ، دعمت البرامج متعددة التخصصات في الهندسة المناعية والتصوير والجراحة الموجهة بالصور والعلاج الإشعاعي الفلاش وسرطان الثدي والصحة العالمية. نتج عن الاستثمار في فريق متعدد الباحث الرئيسي يركز على سرطان الثدي في المراحل المبكرة والعلاج الإشعاعي السريع ، حتى الآن ، أكثر من 5 ملايين دولار في التكاليف المباشرة لمنح متعددة الأطراف و U01 الممولة مؤخرًا. عمل الدكتور سانشيز مع فرق القيادة في مركز السرطان ودارتماوث هيلث وكلية الطب في تجديدين ناجحين لمنحة دعم مركز السرطان من المعهد القومي للسرطان في 2014-15 و 2018-19.

خارج دارتموث ، عمل الدكتور سانشيز في العديد من لجان المعاهد الوطنية للصحة (NIH) وشارك في مراجعة تطبيقات P01 و SPORE. شاركت في اختراع العديد من براءات الاختراع وبراءات الاختراع المؤقتة.

في الآونة الأخيرة ، تم انتخاب الدكتور سانشيز للانضمام إلى مجلس إدارة جمعية معاهد السرطان الأمريكية (AACI). سيبدأ أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الجدد فترات عملهم خلال الاجتماع السنوي لعام 2023 AACI / CCAF في أكتوبر.

Director’s Message

Dr. Sanchez

I am delighted to welcome you to the UNM Comprehensive Cancer Center, the only cancer center in New Mexico that is designated by the National Cancer Institute. We are proud to offer the most advanced cancer treatments, based on the latest science, to all New Mexicans right here in our home state.

— Yolanda Sanchez, PhD, Director and CEO

Director and CEO
The University of New Mexico Comprehensive Cancer Center

The Maurice and Marguerite Liberman Distinguished Chair in Cancer Research
Professor, Department of Internal Medicine, Division of Molecular Medicine,
The University of New Mexico School of Medicine

Previously:
Professor of Molecular and Systems Biology
Associate Director for Basic Sciences, Dartmouth Cancer Center

Yolanda (Yoli) Sanchez carried out her graduate work at the M. D. Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. As a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Stephen Elledge’s laboratory, she used yeast and mammalian cells to dissect the signaling pathways that regulate S phase and Mitosis following DNA damage where she cloned the mammalian and yeast checkpoint kinase 1 genes. The human Chk1 kinase and the Chk1/Atr pathway are being explored as oncology targets in clinical trials. Dr. Sanchez’s first faculty appointment was at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, where she was granted tenure in 2004 before being recruited in 2006 to Dartmouth’s Medical School, now known as the Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth. Dr. Sanchez was named a PEW Scholar in 2001. Her laboratory continues to study the DNA damage response pathways. More recently, her laboratory has focused on targeting the Achilles heel of cancers driven by dysregulated Ras signaling using synthetic lethal chemical screens.

Dr. Sanchez also brings several years of leadership experience at the Dartmouth Cancer Center (DCC, formerly known as the Norris Cotton Cancer Center) and SYNERGY (Dartmouth’s CTSA).  Dr. Sanchez is the Associate Director of Basic Sciences at DCC and serves on the steering committee of the Early Phase Trial Clinical Oncology Group (EPTCOG), which ensures that opportunities for translational research are explored and supported by pilot funding and that effective clinical collaborations for translational research are nurtured.  Dr. Sanchez’s roles include fostering bidirectional translation, and in 2015 she spearheaded a seed-funding program to support multi-investigator multi-disciplinary programs. This initiative, which involves peer review of a written application as well as site-visit style team presentations, has supported interdisciplinary programs in immuno-engineering, imaging and image-guided surgery, flash radiotherapy, breast cancer, and global health. Investment in a multi-PI team focused on early-stage breast Cancer and flash radiotherapy resulted, thus far, in over 5 million dollars in direct costs for multi-PI grants and a recently funded U01. Dr. Sanchez worked with the Cancer Center, Dartmouth Health, and Medical School’s leadership teams on two successful renewals of the Cancer Center Support Grant from the NCI in 2014-15 and 2018-19.

Outside of Dartmouth, Dr. Sanchez has served on numerous National Institutes of Health (NIH) panels and has participated in the review of P01 and SPORE applications. She is co-inventor on several patents and provisional patents.

Most recently, Dr. Sanchez has been elected to join the Board of Directors of the Association of American Cancer Institutes (AACI). New board members will begin their terms during the 2023 AACI/CCAF Annual Meeting in October.